while they lasted…

25 Sep

A few weeks ago I had a cocktail party in my home. It was a big deal because it was the first time we really entertained in “our” home. I went all out too. Homemade Rose Sangria, home brewed iced tea, shrimp cocktail, mini crab cakes, skewed caprese, finger sandwiches (but no cucumber sandwiches here!), ‘Food Should Taste Good’ multigrain chips (THE best chips ever!!) with fresh guac and pico de gallo, plus cream puffs and ice and fruit parfaits for dessert. All white ‘crate and barrel’ serving dishes and appetizer plates, and real wine and juice glasses. Yellow lattice print table clothes and fresh gerbera daises and sunflowers. The flowers, the real topic of this post, were from Whole Foods. The flowers were by far THE longest lasting flowers I have ever bought in my life! I bought them the morning of the party, and they lasted (not one stem had died) for 3 weeks. I kept walking by them day after day, at one point I thought maybe I had bought fake flowers, but quickly realized that I would never commit to should a decor faux pas! I love fresh flowers, but always hate how quickly they die. Buying them frequently feels like such a waste of money. Whole Foods has now solved my flower problem. Thanks Whole Foods!!

Leave a Reply

